NTS Awkward Movements Show – 2.9.13

Too much good music and not enough radio show. A mixture of tunes that I’ve been wanting to play for weeks as well as forthcoming and brand new joints on cassette, CD and wax, last Monday’s Awkward Movements show on NTS was two hours of track dropped tunes that sound like nothing else. Big ups all who locked.

Kicking off with the new Four Tet and Bethany Skirt remixing Lakker, we managed to get in something from the Vakula triple LP set and Gunnar Haslam on L.I.E.S. for the early club tip. Experimental bits from El Mahdy Jr., L. Pierre, Wild Worm Web and Paul Lansky to name a few were balanced out with traditional sounds from Badouin de Jaer on one of Korea’s oldest instruments, a psyche-take on ceremony music via Master Musicians of Bukkake and mdoern-day Niger wedding player Mdou Moctar.

The show rounded off with some David Lynch, after a return to techno from Drumcell and Black Sites, in-between which we doubled up back-to-back on Foodman tracks, just because that tape on Digitalis is so damn good.

Stream or download the entire two hours below. Paul Ackroyd aka Kamikaze will be going live from the studio in Dalston in a week’s time, 2-4pm Monday the 16th.

Four Tet – Kool FM [Text]
Lakker – Coal Bath (Skirt Remix) [Candela Rising]
Vakula – Jazz Mutants [Firecracker Recordings]
El Mahdy Jr. – Coins & Diamonds [Boomarm Nation]
Mdou Moctar – Issusahid Elwaname [Sahel Sounds]
Master Musicians Of Bukkake – Arche [Important Records]
Gunnar Haslam – Just for Me [L.I.E.S.]
Baudouin de Jaer – Backdrop II – Decor II [Sub Rosa]
Roland P. Young – Coast [EM Records]
Atlantis – The Secret Agent [Handstitched Recordings]
Beppu – Transistors [Beppu]
Olekranon – Nine Streams [Inam Records]
Flower Farmer – Ocean Glow [Reckno]
L. Pierre – Movement I [Melodic Music]
The Portsmouth Sinfonia – Uptown Top Ranking [Philips]
Food Pyramid – Marsh Bar [Intercoastal Artists]
Paul Lansky – Idle Chatter [Bridge Records]
Max Loderbauer – Gamshag [Non Standard Productions]
Ensemble Skalectrik – Pharos Groove [Fat Cat]
Wild Worm Web – Black Power To The People [A Tribute To Leroy Jones] [m.m. Art]
Drumcell – Disturbance (Tommy Four Seven Remix) [CLR]
Black Sites – Prototype [Pan]
Foodman – Otoufu Yasan [Digitalis Recordings]
Foodman – Wave [Digitalis Recordings]
David Lynch – Star Dream Girl [Sacred Bones Records]