Eat Concrete Label Mix

My recent quest to find out more about the art work on the 2008 Data Bwoy sleeve took me back the roots of the label that released it – Eat Concrete – and label boss Pete Concrete who gave me the name Svante Danielsson to run with. From what I can see he’s a games designer out of Sweden, though I plan to investigate matters further and get back to you. Incidentally we’ve closed off the stamp designs for AWK003 hence this recent obsession with label design.

In the midst of this I was also reminded of what an incredibly underrated label Eat Concrete remains. Back when i was working in distribution I used to pick up it all up as it came out. They were definitely influential in the incredibly deep beats/bass scene taking off in the Netherlands and other European hubs, and I don’t think they’ve got an equivalent down in the UK market either; certainly no one as unpredictable and uncompromising in their releases.

I can openly admit that EAT010 has been a secret weapon of mine for years, something I’ve got doubles of so that one copy never leaves the DJ bag. Just one example of the quality of output (especially considering it’s just run by one guy) which is amazing, from record design to their unknown signings they do it all with a love of the releases and it definitely shows.

Pete Concrete (the one guy referred to above) recently put together a mix of for Ampsoul Radio, consisting entirely of Eat Concrete forthcoming material as well as underground classics and essentials. Hermut Lobby, Hearin’ Aid and of course Aardvarck make an appearance alongside a load of label mates. Big up for 45 minutes of killer tunes, one of the best back catalogues out there and the fact that it looks like it’s going to be a massive year for the label in getting their message across to the masses.

PETE CONCRETE – EAT AMP SOUL – Eat Concrete Exclusive Mix For Ampsoul Radio by Eat Concrete

01. Caural – Sorry, Underground Hip Hop Happened Ten Years Ago
02. Hearin’ Aid presents D-Frost Beats – I B Buc
03. Kubus – Zonder Baa
04. Hearin’ Aid – The Differenc
05. Baconhead – Fly Traps
06. Aardvarck – Stamp
07. Knalpot – AV 1
08. Boy King Islands – Wear You Well
09. Enemy Earth – Omiture
10. Herrmutt Lobby – Play
11. Hearin’ Aid – The Difference
12. Take – All Around
13. Caural – Sugarcane Girlfriend
14. Aardvarck – Stolen Jazz
15. Evan Odd – Kitezh
16. Enemy Earth – Motto Sh*
17. Caural – Sunburned
18. Aardvarck – Heal
19. Boy King Islands – Lights In The Sky
20. Lumisokea – Lilya
21. Aardvarck – Poesco Talk