Awkward Movements on NTS – 26.11.16

John Zorn (pictured above from 1993) is like the honey badger of composition, the dude ain’t scared of shit. He will literally take on everything to find the sound he wants. Hundreds of albums, featuring his composition, playing and producing have graced us since the early seventies, and he’s still finding new genres to explore.

49 Acts of Unspeakable Depravity in the Abominable Life and Times of Gilles de Rais is the latest of his works and is pure madness, with bits of metal, jazz, blues, funk and classical somehow coming together.

Stoked to be playing it in the Awkward Movements Show on NTS on the weekend, which you can stream below. Loads of other heat as well, including forthcoming and released Seekersinternational, new Japanese rap on Bokeh Versions and a load more live and experimental pieces from the likes of Ghedalia Tazartes, Jan Jelinek and Mike Cooper among others. Full track list below underneath the stream.

Apologies for the mic sounding a bit weird, we were trying out some vocal recording theories that we’ll be dropping for the next show.

Paul Ackroyd holding it down again in a fortnight’s time, bound to be big as always.

Titus 12 – Grow Chart [Forthcoming / Unreleased]
Seekersinternational – DSC07(LegalNow) [ICS Library Records]
MX7 – DeathMask [ICS Library Records]
O$VM$VM – Eazy [Idle Hands]
Aquadab & MC A – Island Nation 24 Spectacles [Bokeh Versions]
Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek – What You Should Know About Me [Faitiche]
Jeff Mills – Gravitational Lensing [Axis]
Rider Shafique – Freedom Cry [Young Echo]
Solo1 – PM Song 1 [Memory No. 36 Recordings]
Wolf Dem – Tin Procession [Great Cirlces]
Solo1 – Unsound Equipment [Memory No. 36 Recordings]
Leyden Jars – The Marsh of Time []
Seekersinternational – SoundDedication [Diskotopia]
Sikka Rymes feat. John D, prod. Genesis Hull – Love Di People [Duppy Gun Productions]
Georgia – Longry [F T D]
Renick Bell – Trying To Control the Four Winds [UIQ]
John Zorn – Scene 9 [Tzadik]
Eternal Tapestry – Where the Trees Touch the Ground [Sky Lantern Records]
Negative Reaction – Land Of Surrender [Vinyl-on-demand]
Florencio Coronado – Alma, Corazon Y Vida [BAM]
Ghédalia Tazartès – Chris Corsano – Dennis Tyfus – Untitled #1 [Ultra Eczena]
Mike Cooper – The Migrant Song [IDEA Records]
Awengele – Awengele [Soundway]
Don’t DJ – Evocation In Desert Ruins [Berceuse Heroique]
Gulls – System Pools (Shock Version) [Common Language]