Awkward Movements on NTS – 14.11.15

Just back from travels, as always apologies for the delay on this one. The Awkward Movements show on NTS radio went out last weekend, covering a lot of ground; hope you dug it and it made sense. For those that missed it you can stream below with the full track list or get in touch for the download.

The radiophonic tape loop duo known as Howlround have dropped a new album, still in pre-order phase for physical. It’s called The Black Tangle and well worth getting on if you’ve not already, with a cut from that appearing early on in the show alongside Anthony Child’s awesome new Editions Mego project and a super-limited Autoisolation cassette.

Pulled out some UK hip-hop from Ramson Badbonez (the man’s still got the best flow we’ve ever heard) and Defenders Of Style, both from the Dead Albatross list, as well as a 7″ from Salvo from 2008 on his own King Kong Holdings imprint; definitely a classic track that got skipped over.

Still lost in that Hieroglyphic Being, Ian Marshall, Shelley Hirsch (pictured above from sessions), Ben Vida and crew collaboration called Hieroglyphic Being & J.I.T.U. Ahn-Sahm-Buhl. The double LP is brilliant, chanelling both Jamal Moss and the Arkestra leader’s vibes for a pretty unique and special collection of recordings.

We later on found ourselves lost in some footwork, Danny Brown, Kangding Ray, Throwing Snow and Acid Arab to name a few, before closing off with an incredible track from IVVVO. There’s also a hastily added in DJ Spider track from his new LP, which is the result of misreading the time left on the show, but DJ Spider is always good so no complaints.

So yeah, covered a lot of ground and had a lot of fun. Paul Ackroyd aka Kamikaze back with the show next weekend, get locked.

Anthony Child – The Chief [Editions Mego]
Autoisolation – Apathic Fingertips [floe]
Howlround – A Viewless Sea [The Fog Signals]
Battles – Cacio E Pepe [Warp]
N.O.M.A.D – (((( Yawning )))) [Extra Lovely]
Defenders Of Style – Rhyme or Crime []
Ramson Badbonez – Getdafucoutta Here (Featuring King Kashmere IV) [Boot]
Salvo ft Kashmere & Chester P – The Info [King Kong Holdings]
Hieroglyphic Being & J.I.T.U Ahn-Sahm-Buhl – Roof Of [RVNG Intl.]
Pas Musique – Inside The Spectrum [Alrealon Musique]
Nebulo – Fake Geometrie [Seagrave]
Rian Treanor – A1 [The Death Of Rave]
Throwing Snow – Xema [Houndstooth]
Buttechno – Yalta Digger [Self Released]
Acid Arab – Amal [Versatile Records]
Ape Explorer – Mire Terror [Indole Records]
Danny Brown + Clams Casino – Worth It [Adult Swim]
DJ Spinn – Dubby (feat. DJ Rashad & Danny Brown) [Hyperdub]
Jesse Osborne-Lanthier – Fluid Stasis [Where To Now?]
Puto Marcio – Improooooo [Warp]
Kangding Ray – Dark Barker [raster-noton]
IVVVO – When I Feel You Wet [Oro]
DJ Spider – My Phoenix Rise [Plan B]