Awkward Movements NTS Show 23.7.12

Playing a bit of catch-up here, going back to the the 23rd of last month, with Paul Ackroyd aka Kamikaze holding it down on for Awkward Movements on NTS. As always flipping up a tonne of styles in to a pretty tidy 2 hours of music blasting out of the Dalston station. Download or stream right at the bottom, big ups for all the new bits dropping, the classics we never checked and the unheard bits that are just seeing the light of day – no way to categorise this lot except quality tune selection. 

Radio shows may be the new music blogs (everyone’s got them) but the fact is that no one’s doing it like Mr Ackroyd, and even while I took over duties for this Monday show gone he was serving up Olympics specials, more on that soon too. For some proper insight in to how the journey came together and recording the show check his write-up below.

Brand new tracks from Gultsrka Artikler, Hanetration, Christian Fennesz, Eric Lanham, Elektro Guzzi, Xosar, Marielle V Jacobsons, Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury, and Noleian Reusse; newly reissued bits from Howlin’ Wolf, Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou, Pauline Oliveros, Marika Papagika, Pierre Schaeffer, Maria Monti, and In Aeternam Vale; plus some bonus pieces from Robert Lippok, Sculpture, Dajuin Yao, Cab Calloway, Vladamir Mayakovsky, Multiphonic Ensemble, Johnny L Hurricane Jones, and Screamin’ Jay Hawkins.

In Aeternam Vale – Dust Under Brightness [Minimal Wave]
Dajuin Yao – Satisfaction Of Oscillation [Sub Rosa]
Pierre Schaeffer – Plutoot Meelodique [Recollection GRM]
Hanetration – Rex []
Marika Papagika – Fonias Tha Gino [New Victor Greek]
Cab Calloway – Savage Rhythm [Classics]
Elektro Guzzi – Saftgulash [La Casa Encendida]
Gultskra Artikler – Glaznoe Dno Morskogo Chudisha [Miasmah]
Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – Not Anymore [Rumble]
Happy Hayseeds – Ladies Quadrille [Tompkins Square]
Howlin’ Wolf – Moanin’ At Midnight [Chess]
Maria Monti – Lo Zoo [Unseen Worlds]
Sculpture – Double Throw [Dekorder]
Eric Lanham – The Sincere Interruption [Spectrum Spools]
Xosar – Tropical Cruise [L.I.E.S.]
Multiphonic Ensemble – Electric Music Box [Sub Rosa]
Robert Lippok – Sugarcubes [Raster Noton]
Pauline Oliveros – Three Pieces iii [Important]
Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury – Inhale [Invada]
Marielle V Jacobsons – Crystal Orchard [Students Of Decay]
Christian Fennesz – Sasazuka [Ash International]
Johnny L Hurricane Jones – Life Has No Sorrows That Heaven Cannot Heal [Parlortone]
Vladamir Mayakovsky – And Would You [Sub Rosa]
Noleian Reusse – My Psycles [Tevo Howard]
Tsegue Maryam Guebrou – The Homeless Wanderer [Buda]