20 F**king Years Of Planet E – LDN Night and Compilation

Been meaning to bomb this up for a while, as this is going to be big. And unless you live under a rock you’re probably already counting down the days until the 20 F**king Years Of Planet E night goes down on the 5th of March at Ewer Street car park. Big ups to London Warehouse Events for hooking up the best and most appropriate venue for the night. We’re hoping to get a photographer down to share it with you the day after.

For those not in the know about Planet E, check the ‘About Us’ section of their site for some dope mantra reading, and this Fact interview with founder Carl Craig, who’s appropriately headlining the festivities. With good reason he appeared at the top of the list for Jimmy Monsta Funk 3×5 – Techno After Jazz.



I was only in my second year of schooling when Planet E Communications launched itself as a label in 1991, straight out of Detroit, Michigan. Since then the it’s established itself as one of the leading forces for the electronic music. You’ll be hard pushed to find a weightier roster. Urban Tribe, Moodymann, Recloose, Kenny Larkin and Kevin Saunderson are just some of the names outside of Carl Craig projects that’ve been dropped on the label. No doubt that it wasn’t hard for Craig to throw together a stellar lineup to take the festivities around the world with. For the bashment in London he’ll be joined by Francois K, Radio Slave, Paul Woolford and the duo of Psycatron who’re the top support worth seeing in my opinion.

Check below for the full RA rundown, and follow the link to get your tickets. Underneath that it’s the Planet E press release on the full world tour and the CD & limited LP releases that will be coming off the back of the anniversary.

 via Resident Advisor
Quintessential Detroit label Planet E will celebrate its 20th anniversary in London this March, with a warehouse party headlined by label founder Carl Craig.

Planet E first launched back in 1991, and over the next ten years put out music by many of the motor city’s most influential artists, such as Recloose, Kevin Saunderson and Kenny Dixon Jr. Throughout the ’00s the label expanded to release more artists from Europe and the UK, from Kirk Degiorgio to Martin Buttrich to Newworldaquarium. Especially in its early years, the so-called “futuristic funk” sound of Planet E had immeasurable influence on house and techno that still resonates today.

Craig will share the stage that night with Francois K, another icon of the US’s club scene. Matt Edwards, AKA Radio Slave will man the decks as well, along with perennial big room favourite Paul Woolford. Latter day Planet E duo Psycatron will provide support, and more acts are still due to be announced. Though some dilapidated spot in Detroit would probably be ideal, the musty expanse of Ewer Street Car Park should should suit the party just fine.


via Planet E
In 2011, Carl Craig’s Planet-E will be 20 years old and to celebrate he is dedicating the year to releasing selected music on Planet-E – including albums, new remixes of tracks from the depths of the Planet-E back catalogue and unreleased tracks.

The first album release of 2011 will be ’20 F@#&ING Years – We Ain’t Dead Yet’ – a best of Planet-E compilation featuring artists including Carl Craig, Recloose, Martin Buttrich, Kenny Larkin and Basic Channel, to be initially released on February 22nd digital only. Alongside the digital release will be a competition for people to complete a poll and suggest which tracks should be pressed onto a limited edition vinyl box set, to be released in June 2011.

Beginning in March will be a monthly vinyl / digital remix package release from the Planet E and Carl Craig back catalogue. Artists including Luciano, Ricardo Villalobos, Dubfire, Richie Hawtin, Loco Dice, Seth Troxler, Kevin Saunderson, Francois K, Mad Mike Banks, Dennis Ferrer, and others have selected their favourite track from the Planet E back catalogue to remix and release. First up will be a Luciano remix of Recloose’s ‘Can’t Take It’, with monthly remix releases to follow.

Carl Craig will also be taking Planet-E on tour throughout the world for the first time, ever. He will be joined on tour by guests including Luciano, Ricardo Villalobos, Dubfire, Sven Vath, Richie Hawtin, Loco Dice, Seth Troxler, Psycatron, Paul Woolford, Radio Slave, Chris Liebing and many others. Stage one of the world tour begins March, with March dates including London, Berlin, Miami, Paris, Dublin and Vienna. The tour will continue the whole of 2011 and will include USA, Japan, Australia, South America and more.

One of the leading electronic music labels in the history of the genre, Planet E, is taking a moment to celebrate and share a bit of its history, before getting back to the business of looking forward to the future.

1. Moodymann – Dem Young Sconies
2. Attias – Analysis
3. Martin Buttrich – Full Clip
4. Lazy Fat People – Club Silencio
5. Recloose feat Dwele – Cant Take It
6. Quadrant – Hyperprism
7. Jona – Altiplano
8. Gemini – A Moment of Insanity
9. Paperclip People – Clear & Present
10. Urban Tribe – Covert Action
11. Balil – Nort Route
12. 69 – Jam The Box
13. 4th Wave – Electroluv
14. Innerzone Orchestra – Bug in the Bassbin
15. Urban Tribe – Repeating Decimal
16. Future/Past – Clinically Inclined
17. Flexitone – Pulse of Revolution
18. Carl Craig – Dominas
19. Niko Marks – Chune
20. Naomi Daniel – Stars (DJ Dos Mix 2)
21. Tres Demented – Demented or Just Crazy
22. Ican – Pa Mi Gente
23. Tres Demented – Shez Satan
24. Kenny Larkin – You Are – C2 rmx*
25. Tribe – Living in a New Day – C2 rmx
*previously unreleased